For Immediate Release

Contact: Amy Mercer
Marketing and Communications Manager
843-722-2706 ext. 38


Gibbes Museum of Art Welcomes Nine New Board Members

Board Officers and New Members Selected for FY 2011-2012

(July 14, 2011 - Charleston, South Carolina) – The Board of Directors of the Carolina Art Association, which governs the Gibbes Museum of Art, has added nine new members to its ranks effective July 1, 2011. New members are Jane (Tater) Beak, Virginia Brush, Susan Campbell, Lucile Cogswell, Lou Hammond, Barbie Kratovil, Michele Seekings, Michael Seekings, and Richard A. Smith. The nine new members, each serving a 3-year term as part of the Class of 2014, bring the total number of board members to 40. In addition to the newly elected Board members, City Councilmember Michael Seeking has been appointed to represent Charleston City Council.

Officers for FY 2011-2012 are Allan J. Anderson, President; Laura D. Gates, First Vice President; Harriet Smartt, Second Vice President; Ruth O. Baker, Secretary; Wendy Kopp, Treasurer; and J. Elizabeth Bradham, Immediate Past President. The new board members and officers were voted in by the museum’s membership at the Gibbes Annual Meeting Celebration held on May 2.

Established as the Carolina Art Association in 1858, the Gibbes Museum of Art opened its doors to the public in 1905. 

Located in Charleston’s historic district, the Gibbes houses a premier collection of over 10,000 works of fine art, principally American works with a Charleston or Southern connection and presents special exhibitions annually. In addition, the museum offers an extensive complement of public programming and educational outreach initiatives.

As the aesthetic heart of the Lowcountry, the Gibbes serves the community by stimulating creative expression, increasing economic vitality through tourism, and improving the region’s superb quality of life.

135 Meeting Street * Charleston, SC * 29401