For Immediate Release

Contact: Amy Mercer
Marketing and Communications Manager
843-722-2706 ext. 38


Charleston Symphony Orchestra Woodwind Quintet Performs A Musical Response to the Gibbes Exhibition Jill Hooper: Contemporary Realist

Sunday, February 26, 4pm at the Gibbes Museum of Art

(February 15, 2012 - Charleston, South Carolina) – The Charleston Symphony Orchestra Woodwind Quintet will perform chamber music of Debussy, Handel, and more inspired by the current exhibition Jill Hooper: Contemporary Realist on Sunday, February 26 at 4pm. Staged in the stunning Gibbes Rotunda and surrounded by Hooper’s exquisite portraits, large-scale landscapes, and still-life paintings, the recital will pay tribute to the artist’s classical training and mastery of technique.

“Hooper paints in a very classic style and so we have selected composers like Haydn and Danzi because they lived in the Classical period. Still life was popular in the Baroque period and that is why we will include a work by Handel in the performance. We also chose a Claude Debussy piece because as a musician, Debussy was inspired by the contemporary artists of his time who were primarily Impressionists. We want to pay tribute to the artist-musician connection as we are inspired today by Jill Hooper’s artistry,” said CSO Concertmaster Yuriy Bekker.

Jill Hooper: Contemporary Realist is on view in the Gibbes Rotunda Galleries through April 22. The exhibition features recent works by the Charleston artist, a classically-trained, realist painter whose extraordinary portraits have earned international recognition. Through the inclusion of both paintings and drawings, the exhibition offers insight into Hooper’s working process while showing her development as an artist over the past decade.

Tickets for A Musical Response to Jill Hooper: Contemporary Realist by the Charleston Symphony Orchestra Woodwind Quintet are $15 for museum members and students and $25 for non-members. The ticket price includes both the concert performance and museum admission. Tickets can be purchased at the Gibbes Museum Store, online at, or by phone at 843-722-2706 x22. Advance ticket purchase is strongly encouraged as this event is likely to sell out.

Haydn: Divertimento No. 1 in B flat major
Handel: Air and Variations ("The Harmonious Blacksmith") from Suite No. 5 in E major
Debussy: Arabesque No. 1 from Deux Arabesques for Piano
Franz Danzi: Quintet Op. 56 No. 2 in G minor

Regina Yost, Flute
Kari Kistler, Oboe
Charles Messersmith, Clarinet
Katherine St. John, Bassoon
Anne Holmi, French Horn

The CSO is a resident orchestra of professional full-time musicians. Since 1936, in its pursuit of artistic excellence, the CSO has presented the Lowcountry area with classical and popular repertoire, ranging from grand symphonic performances to intimate chamber ensembles. The CSO has three affiliate vocal ensembles: the Charleston Symphony Chorus, the Charleston Symphony Gospel Choir, and the Charleston Symphony Spiritual Ensemble. The CSO is committed to the development of music experiences for children and offers a variety of educational initiatives.

Established as the Carolina Art Association in 1858, the Gibbes Museum of Art opened its doors to the public in 1905. 

Located in Charleston’s historic district, the Gibbes houses a premier collection of over 10,000 works of fine art, principally American works with a Charleston or Southern connection and presents special exhibitions annually. In addition, the museum offers an extensive complement of public programming and educational outreach initiatives.

As the aesthetic heart of the Lowcountry, the Gibbes serves the community by stimulating creative expression, increasing economic vitality through tourism, and improving the region’s superb quality of life.

135 Meeting Street * Charleston, SC * 29401