For Immediate Release

Media Contacts: Melanie Mathos / Hannah Nuccio
Lou Hammond & Associates /
(843) 371-1363 / (843) 410-5306


Gibbes Museum of Art Announces Entries Are Now Being Accepted Online for 2009 Factor Prize

Second Annual Elizabeth and Mallory Factor Prize for Southern Art will be Awarded in May

(October 23, 2008 - Charleston, SC) – The Gibbes Museum of Art is pleased to announce the second year of the Elizabeth and Mallory Factor Prize for Southern Art. The Factor Prize, given annually with a cash prize of $10,000, acknowledges an artist whose work contributes to a new understanding of the South. Unlike any other award of its type, the Factor Prize is designed to create an online archive of information about Southern artists that can be used by curators, collectors, academicians and the public.

The Factor Prize goes to an artist whose work demonstrates the highest level of artistic achievement in any media. The prize may be awarded to an artist who has already produced a body of significant work or whose work shows considerable promise. Eligible artists are those who reside, work or are from Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, or Virginia. The winner of the 2008 Factor Prize was photographer Jeff Whetstone of Chapel Hill, North Carolina. Whetstone will serve as a judge for the 2009 prize.

The donors, Elizabeth and Mallory Factor, established the Factor Prize to bring attention to fine artists from the South or that are working in the South. The Factors are devoted collectors and patrons of the arts. Elizabeth Factor, an attorney, was on the board of the Drawing Center and on the Whitney’s Photography Committee while in New York City. Mallory Factor, a merchant banker and consultant, serves on many corporate and not-for-profit boards including the Brooklyn Academy of Music, the American Theatre Wing and the TONY Awards Administration Committee.

All artists who entered on the Factor Prize website in 2008 (except those that made the Short List of Finalists) are automatically registered for the 2009 award. New nominations are now being accepted through January 30, 2009 at A nominating committee will select the finalists in February 2009 and the Gibbes Museum of Art will announce the winner in May 2009.

Established as the Carolina Art Association in 1858, the Gibbes Museum of Art opened its doors to the public in 1905 in historic Charleston, S.C. The Gibbes houses one of the foremost collections of American Art from the 18th century to the present. The Gibbes is currently undergoing major renovations and will reopen in the spring of 2016. The renovated museum will properly showcase its extensive collections and will feature an admission-free ground floor, providing a place to watch artists at work in studios and stroll through a world-class garden.

135 Meeting Street | Charleston, SC | 29401